RLC 2018

Press Release

22 January 2018


The Hillsdale High School Business Professionals of America Club continued its success streak when they competed in the BPA Region 6 competition at Henry Ford Community College in Dearborn.  Fifty-eight Hornets traveled with their teachers Mindy Eggleston and Jenny Duff, to Dearborn on a very cold day during the holiday vacation. Twenty-five individuals qualified for state. Individual regional champions included Breanna Bildner in Advanced Word Processing and Rebecca Galloway in Digital Media Production.  The Website Design Team of Bildner, Grace Olinger, Jayson Radabaugh, and Victoria Robinson were also crowned regional champions.

Region 6 is the biggest regional in the state of Michigan with over 700 competitors from about 26 different schools.  To qualify for state an individual must be in the top six and a team must finish in the top two.

The Parliamentary Procedure Team of Lauren Baker, Taegan Hoffman, Emily Kimball, Anders Moore, Maddie Moore, Rachel Rufenacht, Sarah Shreffler, and Grace Vondra placed second and also qualified to compete at the State Leadership Conference.  Emily Kimball (Advanced Office Systems), Ryan Wood (Entrepreneurship), Annie Hamaty (Prepared Speech), and Anders Moore (Parliamentary Procedure Concepts) also took home silver medals.

Bronze medals were awarded to Chloe Page (Advanced Office Systems), Gabe Alley (Basic Office Systems), Lauren Baker (Medical Office Procedures), and Sarah Shreffler (Fundamental Desktop Publishing).  

Other state qualifiers included: Grace Shreffler (4th Place Fundamental Word Processing), Grace Vondra (4th Place Prepared Speech), Sarah Korn (5th Place Fundamental Word Processing), Kara Horn (5th Place Graphic Design), John Maier (6th Place Economic Research Project), Ella Springer (Desktop Publishing), and MaCayla Bisher (6th Place Graphic Design).

The Administrative Support Team (Kennedy Beach, MaCayla Bisher, Abigail Baxter, and Chloe Page) and the Small Business Management Team (Melanie Foust, Nicholas Foust, Moses Jenkins, Ryan Wood) also finished in third place but did not qualify for state. Other notable finishes who just missed qualifying for state included: 4th Place Broadcast News Team (Annie Hamaty, Aidan Petersen, Shannon Petersen), 5th Place Presentation Management Team (Reilly Powell, Sierra Kelly-Scott,  Erin Ruley, Madisen Young), 6th Place Global Marketing Team (Hailey Granate, Muriel Mackie, Katelyn Throop, Mia Vander Hoff), 7th Place Grace Olinger (Spreadsheet Applications), Ella Springer (Word Processing), Joe Wilcox (Graphic Design), Connor Steffes (Interview Skills), Rachel Rufenacht (Prepared Speech), 8th Place Hailey Granata (Medical Office), 9th Place Nicholas Foust (Desktop Publishing), Hunter Sharp (Word Processing), and 10th Place Ella Lewis (Desktop Publishing), Grace Shreffler (Spreadsheets), Karissa Manifold (Word Processing), and Jayson Radabaugh (Medical Office).

Diplomat Torch Award winners included:  Kennedy Beach, Breanna Bildner, MaCayla Bisher, Braxten Boyd, Brylee Boyd, Hailey Granata, Taegan Hoffman, Moses Jenkins, Emily Kimball, Ella Lewis, Anders Moore, Chloe Page, Shannon Petersen, Sarah Shreffler, Katelyn Throop, Grace Vondra, and Joe Wilcox.

The Hornets will travel to the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel March 15-18, to compete at the State Leadership Conference.  Competitors who finish in the top three at state will qualify for the National Conference in Dallas, Texas in May.